DESIGNING IN TOKYO, JAPAN

GRAPHIC DESIGN: Many years ago I was talking to God about my future. One of the things that I was praying through at the time was which career path to take. As a child I had learned some drawing and painting. When I was about 12 I went to the library and checked out every book I could find on drafting and dreamed of what it would be like to be a drafts man. Later I started studying 2D and then 3D animation. And I also began to explore writing, took a video production internship, studied film and explored editing. Throughout all of this I also studied digital photography as well as learning how to develop my own film in a dark room and create traditional black and white photographs by my self. Then one day, I went to George Fox University and learned that there was such as thing as Graphic Design. Aha! “This is what I have been looking for”, I decided. During my time at school studying design I asked God that if He ever brought me to the mission field, that He would use design to bless others. The following is a story of His faithfulness to answer that prayer.

YWAM TOKYO Staff Conference 2012 Banner Design: I got to design the Banner, Table Cards, Name Cards, and Brochure for YWAM National Japan Conference.

INTERNATIONAL HiBA Shirt Design: I got to design the shirts for this years HiBA Gospel Teams called “Let’s Be Friends”.

YWAM TOKYO Base: The YWAM base here asked me to redesign their letterhead and also make business cards (I am still working on this project). I took the logo designed by my friend Pete and further built the visual theme. The letterhead is done and now I will be making business cards.

CORNERSTONE CHURCH: The church I am part of here in Tokyo asked me to create a flyer and web ad for an upcoming event they are doing for Thanksgiving.

JESUS EP CD Cover: My friend here in Tokyo released a single and asked me to create the cover design. This was one of my favorite things to work on! The CD just went live on iTunes and you can find it HERE.

YOU + ME: I have really enjoyed blessing people here in Japan with the trade I learned in college. I am realizing that there is probably more work that I can do here as well as projects I might be able to do for people in America. If you are reading this and have a project that you need designed [Logo, Poster, Letter, Business Cards, Etc] I would love to help you! It would be a great way for you to support me while I am here in Japan. If you are interested click the button below to send me an email and we can talk!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

